top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe City

Living.

Ever looked at a woman wearing makeup and wondered, “what is underneath the makeup?”… Or do you just admire her all the while she’s there?


About two years before I clocked twenty and even two years after, I had just one sentence that was my mantra, “I have to get my life together.” . There really wasn’t anything wrong with saying that except the intensity with which I said it to myself was “a lot”. I was so scared of failing that I never gave myself any chance to make mistakes, and when I happened to make mistakes, I usually almost slipped into depression. Worst part is, I ended up making some very huge and unspeakable mistakes that were life transforming.


Then I started asking myself why I was so desperate to figure life out so early without actually giving myself the chance to live. For years, I lied to myself that it was because I didn’t want to repeat the pattern of life my parents lived, I wanted to do so much better… But that wasn’t the case, the truth was that I was comparing myself to other people who “seemed” to have had life figured out. And recently, I realised that almost everyone is wearing makeup… Creating a facade that they have it figured out because nobody likes being judged. I wasn’t living life, I was working it. And it’s usually hard to enjoy the results of something you didn’t experience but only worked through. And in the case of working through something, you end up floating.

So at the start of 2022, I promised myself to allow mistakes, live through them and learn from them, because there is nobody that ever has everything figured out, There is always a loophole, and sometimes, these loopholes is what allows fresh air and fresh perspective in!

Photo creds: Pinterest



I shared this with the hope that YOU take it easy on yourself and allow some loopholes… Life isn’t perfect and it doesn’t have to be, you just have to Live it, and Live it beautifully.


Cheers.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Full

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page