top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureThe City

Please, Make Noise!

Have you ever felt like you’re making noise when you talk about yourself especially when you highlight your strengths and achievements?

Well, I used to feel that way, once upon a time.


I have often been told by my siblings that I brag a lot… They would tell me that I like talking about myself, especially when I’m narrating an experience about how I did something really well. As a matter of fact, their usual line is, “You like feeling yourself!”, and I would normally get defensive, until it dawned on me one day, that it really isn’t wrong to feel yourself…


I guess the reason I always got defensive was because, I was scared that I would be perceived as a proud person and that I would lose my values.

My perspective changed when I recently completed a training on Public Speaking, Writing and Leadership, and during one of the classes, every student was told to develop their public profile, which was expected to highlight our strengths and achievements… It took me days to actually complete the assignment because I was scared that I would “overdo it”. However, The Provost’s words hit me… He told us to sell ourselves with our Public Profile. So when I eventually completed the assignment, I made sure I talked about myself to the fullest. In other words, I made meaningful noise about myself(that’s literally my basic definition of Marketing: Making meaningful noise about your brand or business.)





A lot of Us try so hard to maintain our stance on the humility pedestal, so we run from talking about ourselves, from marketing ourselves and playing out our strengths because we don’t want to “brag”.


What most fail to realize is that, nobody really knows you until you tell them who you are.


There are so many people in the world looking for YOU with your strengths, achievements and experiences. Help them to find you with your noise.


So my dear reader, please do not hesitate to talk about yourself at every point, even while maintaining the attribute of humility.



I wish you Love and Light!


Yours Always,

~THE CITY~

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Full

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page